Hearts of Ice and Fire

My heart is ice, as yours is fire

My soul is icy cold, yet yours is burning hot

I vie for useless yearnings, you have your blazing desires

I build snowmen and forts, sand and sandcastles you admire

Because I live for snow and without the sun you are naught

.

My heart is ice, so dangerously cold

Easily cracked and broken with a delicate touch of a hand

I feel nothingness, not a single emotion did unfold

Not a single ray of sun has ever shone upon my land

Love, warmth, heat, I could barely understand

.

Your heart is fire, such great intensity

Burning furiously, filled with fiery passion and hate

You feel anger and hate, the flames tend to bite at your sanity

Coolness, calmness, serenity were never your state

Not even a slight tinge of cold ever met your fate

.

Yet when by chance our hearts combined

We felt something very strange, something we both cannot define

I softened from the burst of warmth, you shivered from the cold that came through

I melted, you cooled down, it felt so surreal, so untrue

And at that moment, started a completely new feeling unbeknownst to me and you

.

My heart was ice, as yours was fire

But know we both know the feelings of blazing ice and freezing heat

Our souls became one, our hearts are now out of mire

For now we understand balance, and now our emotions and feelings fleet

And now we know I cannot live without you, and you cannot live without I.

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “Hearts of Ice and Fire

  1. I enjoyed your poetry. You write with a honest pen. Making your tale and thoughts come alive on paper.

Leave a Reply

