I love you…can’t you see?

I love you.

Don’t you know?

Can’t you see through all my stored-up rage and misery?

By the way that I shut myself out, wallowing in my own self-pity?

When I hurt you deep with my words as sharp as dagger

When I faked my way in and my lies just got fatter

By the way that I nitpick all your littlest mistakes

And by the way my eyes flash with fury and hate


I love you.

Can’t you see?

When I thought that the entire world was hopelessly blue?

And when I slowly started slipping away from you?

When I thought I was smarter and better than them

When I turned and rebelled against the system

All those times when my filthy pride got me in shame

Or those times I deliberately spat on our family name


I love you.

Are you listening to me?

Whenever I ignore the fact that you took care of me?

Or when my quick temper gets the better of my sanity?

The way that I walk, the way that I act

The way that I talk, the sense and empathy that I lack

Too rude to say sorry, to emotionless to even cry

Too prideful to be embarrassed, too arrogant to be polite


I LOVE YOU.

Can’t you hear me pounding on the glass?

Those words always tasted so bitter in my mouth

And whenever I hear it, I grimace, I frown, I pout

But now I scream and wail it so many times, ever so desperately

When all my senses returned, and my head was filled with clarity

I finally grew up, dispersed all my childish anger and hate

…But now…now, it’s too late.


I loved you…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

