The Truman Show Delusion

(About the delusion: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Truman_Show_delusion)

~*~

All the world’s a stage, the people all say

And you’d think that they know better

But as soon as the cameras come out to play

They get controlled, turn blind, and I am the only one smarter

.

They think that they could fool my clever, clever eyes

But of course, I already know their sadistic ruse

I see through all their sick disgusting lies

And to acting their written script out, I greatly refuse

.

Which ones are the actors, which ones are just naive?

Is this place even real, or is it just a studio set, all fake?

Are the cameras rolling, the lights and microphones I could perceive?

And do I hear a faint “Cut!” as someone makes a mistake?

.

What? Do those bumbling fools really think that I’m that blind?

Ha! I’m the smartest human of them all!

I’m the only smart person that’s aware that you can find

To the producer’s little tricks, I will never befall

.

Can’t you see? We’re like some rats in a large maze!

A lab rat, a robot, an experiment, just a petty plaything!

We’re like brainless little humans, robots with no actual face!

We’re like mere puppets, our lives being pulled on by a string!

.

They look down at us, move us like we’re just pieces of a chess

Just little pawns to move around the board, no more, no less

But we’ll show them, we’ll show those players, expose them to the crowd

That we’re not just pawns, and they just are simply a bunch of sadistic frauds!

.

Wait, what the hell are you idiots doing? Don’t do this to me!

Don’t lock me away in that dark miserable thing!

Why are you so stupid? Why do you refuse the truth, embrace the lies?

Why do you refuse to see the most obvious thing in front of your eyes?

.

You don’t know what you’re doing! Still acting out, I see!

You fools will regret the day you ever did this to me!

You can lock me up in an asylum, or even make me die

But I still am better than any of you, at least I really did try!

.

I’ll…t-take…five..now…

.
.
.
.
.
CUT!

Hmmm…It seems that our genius figure’s finally figured it out

Is that so? Well then, master, what will happen to this show?

But don’t worry, young one, I got him all subdued now, without a doubt

What then? How come? What did you do to silence that noisy crow?

No one will believe him, of course, my obedient pets all think he’s insane

Yes! Of course! The perfect cover-up! We have prevailed once again!

But of course, dear sir, do you really think I’d let them off that easy?

Of course not, show master! Oh your clever mind works so greatly!

Off you go then. Everyone, return to their sets! Lights! Camera! Action!

Because, nosy meddler or not, the show must go on…

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “The Truman Show Delusion

  1. Wow, there’s a disorder like that?
    Interesting…

    As usual, i love the poem. You are a master puppeteer, and words are your little puppets. You know how to make your puppets dance such that they tug at the heartstrings of the readers and make them think for a good five minutes even after having finished reading the poem, and then make them want to read it over and over and over and over again.

Leave a Reply

