Daddy’s Little Girl

“Make daddy proud, honey.”

You once remarked to me

As you bounced me upon your strong knee

And I laughed and squealed with utmost glee

.

“Yes daddy deaw, I make you pwoud of me, pwomise!”

I replied, a toothless grin, r’s left unpronounced

A silly promise, a random bright day

But little did I know that those words will always stay

.

And your little butterfly did grow up soon

But on the way, something went wrong

Her metamorphosis distorted her inside her cocoon

And she came out with a different song

.

Dark on the outside, dark in her thoughts

She thought herself ugly, she thought herself a moth

Gave in to bad influence, destroyed her wings

Bled herself dry and now hardly sings

.

“Make daddy proud”

And I know you were crestfallen

To see your little princess turn around

And grow up to be this horrible person

.

And you were there daddy, you watched me turn

You watched me hurt, you watched me burn

And Heaven knows how you tried to help, father

But I thought you were just being a bother

.

You know your little girl was gone

It’s faded away, all the brightness of her sun

What’s even worse is that when you tried to give her light

All she did was shun you, ignore you with all her might

.

And I know that even though you acted so strong

It slowly killed your heart and soul inside

The failure of a girl with a life so wrong

And you couldn’t help her, lest you tried

.

So, are you proud of me now, dad?

Or just plain disappointed?

Are you angry? Steamed? Very mad?

Or simply heavily discontented?

.

I’ve changed again now, and this time grew up right

And off it went, the fog that clouded my sight

I want to see you again, be able to go back to our happy date

But now I know that it’s…it’s too late

.

I’m very sorry daddy, I know I dashed your dreams

And you’re not the one to blame, it’s my fault that I’m like this

But even though I didn’t keep my promise, there’s always one thing that’s true

I love you so, so much dad, because you made me very proud of you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

