Steam Powered Heart

My heart is artificial

Made of spare parts and metal

Instead of blood and steady beats

There’s gasoline and endless ticks

The whirring of the cogs resound

Sometimes it gets overpoweringly loud

But when that happens, you hum a song

And stay in my company all day long

Others may scorn me, but you care not for their hate

You accepted my irregularly and made me forget

So my heart may be a chunk of cold metal, that may be true

But somehow it still feels warm and fully alive when I am with you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

