Windup Human

But if all we are is just machines
Then let’s become a miracle and break free from these chains
We must be more than just machines
So let them hear our hearts…

~*~

I’m not your snivelling, spineless, stiff lackey

Nor am I some shambling, rotten clichéd zombie

I’m not a mindless, tipsy-topsy inebriate

Nor a foolish dupe that can’t even think straight

.

But despite all this, I’m still treated like a clockwork automaton

Who can be simply controlled with levers and the push of a button

Forcing me to do all your bidding, using my body against my will

I’ve tried to say no, but these efforts and protests are to no avail

.

In your empty eyes, I’m just another one of your windup soldiers

And the only thing programmed into my brain is “Obey first, questions later”

But I know I have my own soul and conscience that dictates my emotions

Clearly though, of all those traits, you heartless people have none.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

