Sugar and Spice

I’m cynical, cantankerous, and simply severely embittered

You’re yellow honey, carnation posies, and everything else sweeter

I’m algid, a frosty bite of cold, some sombre winter snow

You’re bright sunshine, crystal lollipops, and colourful rainbows

You are striped candycanes, and I am leaves of minty pepper

A strange combination that works perfectly together

I’m dark, muddy, and bitter, like newly-ground coffee

So why don’t you go ahead and pour some sparkling sugar on me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

