Static Connection

All that hate is gonna burn you up
It keeps me warm at night, warmer than anyone
I think how many drinks I’ve had, no more in either hand
I’m slurring on purpose, and it’s certainly worth it…

~*~

These extricable knots are tied together in one graceless swift motion

And blurry photos jestingly taken for another harried flurried notion

Exchanging thrown dulled knives of raucous insalubrious remarks

And an injected almost-lethal dose of offhanded obnoxious snarks

.

Swinging and swimming against these painted, tainted mercurial waters

Holding onto the moon’s sparse gravity tighter as though it even mattered

The muddled ink dripping onyx blots will rearrange themselves for a story

Feather quills quaintly plucked from a silver dove to create your own reality

.

A candy taffy treat for my aching grinning jaws and falling teeth to chew on

Though I know I’m a terrible jinx, I’ve never been a sweetened potion

The knot that connects the headphones is all tangled up and horridly twisted

Loopy links that lose the music, like a sailor constrictor’s poor rendition misted

.

But even cave stones can wash away their stalagmites and stalactites

And dark scathing thorns can still hold up a blooming scarlet rose alike

And the song continues to play fast amidst the Wurlitzer’s slower tune

In the pages, the bookmarks still hold their place, waiting patiently for soon

.

Heaven and Earth will touch souls first before a prideful man says his sorry

Falls humble to his knees, weeps and thanks and tears apart his self glory

Though I trip on these wires and hear fuzzy connections, I must be absolutely crazy

Because despite every scar and war I’ve gained against, still, I don’t regret the conspiration; it ain’t so bad, really.

~*~

Everything I do is bittersweet
You could tell me secrets that I’ll probably repeat
I’m not trying to hurt you, I just love to speak
It feels like we’re pulling teeth, so bittersweet…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

