Fatal Attraction

‘Cause I really always knew that my little crime
Would be cold that’s why I got a heater for your thighs
And I know, I know it’s not your time
But bye bye
And a word to the wise when the fire dies
You think it’s over but it’s just begun
But baby don’t cry…

~*~

Brimstone ballroom glitters, waltzing on a crystalline floor of broken glass

Exquisite cobweb dress worn solemnly, solely only of a most gossamer lass

Roses of onyx petals raining, eternal rings paired made of thistled thorns

Veil of penumbra draped, hiding her bloodshot eyes and fatal velvet horns

Tapping tacky tiny toes twitch, quite uncomfortable in cheap thrill stilettos

Tapping ticking clock signals the end of an era, signals the start of this freakshow

A church organ blares a joyous requiem, pews creak, and the oak doors open

An audience of hired harlequins, hitmen, and harlots clap slow and patient

.

A one-way ticket purchased, join the runaway train on the last ride to Hell

Shushed shotgun weddings celebrated and shiny scattered shotgun shells

I’ll derive entertainment, I’ll pay for my black crime, and I’ll take all the blame

Your bloody lips are so damn hot it feels like kissing a pillar of flames

The jester priest demands: “Do you take her to be your unlawfully wedded wife?”

Yes I do, forever and ever, cross my shriveled heart and sure hope to God I die

A pause, a hitch, collective hesitation, as sharp and threatening as that jagged knife

She says yes and sucks the life out of me; “I now pronounce you husband and wife”

.

A reception in our decorated mausoleum, presents of our closeted skeletons

Wrapped neatly in coffin boxes, delicacies of maggots, cake of charcoal

RSVP, a glaring bellboy ghoul takes your coats and asks chillingly for the invitation

Clapping headstones, withered wind weakened, try not to fall in beckoning empty holes

Red skies the lovely shade of unhealing open wounds, purple like the freshest bruise

Graveyard dancing, banshees singing, ghosts waiting, witches romancing with potion juice

.

A prominent red X on the calendar, a grotesquely beautiful event beset for our cruelest love

Set free our every deepest vices and temptations and set free those broken-winged doves

Groom and bride, demon and angel, down the desolate aisle, marching ever so sophisticated

Who knew that sweet romance and falling away to the pits of love can be this manipulated?

You knock my consciousness away, and I’m stuck in this dreamy state, a nightmare entombed

You make me lose my every breath, or might that just be inhaling the horrible asbestos fumes?

A sealed contract writ in blood and soul, superimposed with a blade to the heart and a poison party toast

It might be a trap, but if marrying the devil feels so wrong it’s right, then hell, to damnation I’ll sempiternally hold.

~*~

You had my heart
At least for the most part
‘Cause everybody’s gotta die sometime
We fell apart, let’s make a new start
‘Cause everybody’s gotta die sometime
But baby don’t cry…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

