Next Year

I don’t know where I
Am going to rest my head tonight
So I won’t promise that I’ll speak
To you today, but if I ever find
Another place, a better time
For that moment
I was never what I am…

~*~

Dreaming of auroras, reminiscent blooming flowers

Staring at the open window on a mo[u]rn December

Thoughts of calendar prose, painted rubicund 31st

A parched thought and unsaid words dying of thirst

.

Inhale one last midnight breath conjuring stardust

Betrayed by the shower seeds we sow, trailing rust

Fluttering fireflies make this stale air taste buttery

Her music box ballet with a fine whimsical melody

.

Those smells of coriander and angel’s breath perfume

Familiar senses of Heaven, as Earth’s gravity resumes

Van Gogh’s paradise painting, yes, but quite unfinished

Perhaps they ran out of acrylics, brush fast diminished

.

Red stripes and pinstripes blurring into a vertical mess

I’d miss those fast-dissolving days too, I must confess

Warm bodies colliding like drunken asteroids in motion

Intoxicating nostalgia, and I’m quite tipsy with emotion

.

But our hearts shall be mended with a tattered line of string

Perhaps Florence’s nightingales might return to softly sing

Warm feathery comfort, in an empty bed of cold navy blue

Vespertine reveries, and reaching out for the hands of you

.

For the roads paving way can come to a halting fork along

And I’ll sink into the soft shoulder if I stand for far too long

Decision weighed like scales, maybe I’ll take the right path

And I left with a single whisper, a lost goodbye’s aftermath

.

Destinations unravel, a hundred miles, and my feet are sore from walking

Towering skyscrapers of tough metal, low bungalows of wooden flooring

Arrow signs, highways, billboards, all leading to abandoned ghostly cities

Vistas, landscapes in verdancy, but still, you’re the best sight I’ll ever see

.

When I drape my spotted bindle and kiss away my penultimate farewells

Setting the vision of my clouded binoculars farther than it could ever tell

When my soul sheds silvery rain, and annihilates all initial pains and fear

I promise you that I’ll be there soon dear, I promise I’ll be home next year.

~*~

Maybe someday
You’ll be somewhere
Talking to me
As if you knew me
Saying, I’ll be home for next year, darling
I’ll be home for next year…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

