The Valley of the Damned

I found me in a dream I can’t quite tell

Nothing could be heard, save my exclaimed yells

A clangorous toll of the old church bells

As if, to recognise my bereft knell

I blinked my eyes to clear out the vision

Obscenities, kaleidoscope fusions

Rather than vanish, why, alas! I saw

Such macabre horrors of nightmares raw!

.

I found me in a dream within a dream

I sought to shiver, I fought not to scream

For surely, it will awake reposing beasts

In the unquiet valley where they feast

That mystified zephyr of Hebrides

Prayed out to me in eponymous pleas

From whence cometh the tempest arising

In delirious shades of jagged lightning

.

I found me in a dream of tantrum storms

The quicksand below me mocks in furled scorn

Torrents of rain slashed at my waxen skin

Vulnerable state of feared heart within

It worried me not, my physical form

Yet I feared great for my sanity shorn

Will it keep me company? Or give in?

To the contagion of this valley’s sins?

.

I found me in a dream of umbralon

Whilst I wandered the desert all alone

A presence of unrest, saddled danger

Following me like a distant stranger

And what is that shadow that stalks me here?

A feminine figure, a lithe veneer

Upon closer inspection…on my life!

Sneering back was my emaciated wife!

.

I found me in a dream of seeked vengeance

Facing my departed wife’s defiance

Its rictus opened, I stared in horror

Mouthing such words that left me in terror

Come with me, groaned she, cold corpse beckoning

Shaken, I fled, denying her waiting

She gave way to no chase, only she smiled

I suppose I shall see you in a while…

.

I found me in a dream of confession

Vindicating with forceful convictions

Oh dear God, tell me, for I have wronged thee

Why must I suffer thus? Please answer me!

I implored in pain, yet all in mad vain

For only thunder procured my remains

Collapsing by a riverbank of mud

I wept and I wailed, tears causing a flood

.

I found me in a dream of senselessness

Where my reasons diminished, less and less

The morn in descent, a perennial night

Heed, heed the dying of the glorious light

As I lost the path of my own snapped mind

And cackled in lunacy, unlike mine

Halted at the gate of blood, death and bones

Ah, I thought comfortingly, I am home.

.

Demons hath swooped with tongues in twisted grins

And magniloquence, Welcome, please come in!

I embraced their whips, grateful volition

Marching me to their final perdition

When I found me in my dream, I have fell

Stepping upon a ghastly wishing well

When I asked for peace in paradise’s dell

I missed one step and plunged through this damned hell.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

