Panem et Circences: Act Two

[SOFT MUSIC BOX INTERLUDE]

[INTERMISSION]

Hey, you seated comfortably? Got your bag of pork rinds and/or sandwich? GREAT! I need you to sing-a-long! It’s a sing-a-long, this next song. Even if you’re in your underwear, sing loud and proud! Now, if you don’t know the lyrics, just follow the bouncing pug head! It’ll show you the way! Now uh, don’t follow the red star. That will give you the wrong lyrics, and completely ignore the chihuahua head. Just the pug, all right? Then we’re good to go! Without any further ado…

~*~

[CIRCUS MUSIC RETURNS]

[SPOTLIGHT SHINES BRIGHTER]

[RINGMASTER BLOWS ON WHISTLE]

[SECOND SET OF ACTS WALK IN]

[START OF ACT TWO]

~*~

[FOSSOR]

Bulbous nose, cream-smeared face

Misfit clothes, rag factory explosion

Some may laugh at me, but I’ll raise

Most are still terrified of this clown.

~*~

[EFFUGIUM]

Chaining me up in leaden shackles

Confined in the claustrophobic box

Or in a tank of water with manacles

I will always emerge free, unlocked.

~*~

[LIBRAMEN]

Swinging from bar to bar, ad infinity

Lithe somersets of graceful trickery

Catch me, take my hand, I will hold

Flying is fun for I know not to let go.

~*~

[MAGNUS]

Amaze, enthrall, smoke and mirrors

Entering phantasmagorical horrors

A pledge, turn, prestige, I’m the face

Of illusions, I never cease to amaze.

~*~

[MAGISTER]

Ultimate act of the ringmaster’s performance

Stovepipe hat tipping, welcome to the show

I’ve no oddities, yet the linchpin of the circus

Conducting exhibitions akin orchestra maestro.

~*~

[VALE]

Ladies and gentlemen, we hope you enjoyed the show

I wish we had more, but goodbye, it’s time for us to go

We hope you gripped your seats, cheered and laughed

And most of all, our bread and entertainment filled you and got you to clap.

~*~

[CHARACTERS TAKE A FINAL BOW]

[UPROARIOUS APPLAUSE]

[CIRCUS MUSIC FADES]

[SPOTLIGHTS FLICKER OFF]

[DISEMBODIED LAUGH]

[END OF ACT TWO]

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

