Gold Memory Impression

And life is a joke, at least I can love you
Naked and tattooed, counting the stars and scars
And if the pain is a sound, let’s slow it down
Desperate times and desperate measures
I come so close, my hopes are severed by the downside
A million waves in the ocean crash at once
To make you smile…

~*~

A million gold chain links keep me

From reaching your constellations

Idled in a twenty-four hour carpark

5 AM’s ticking away consternation

Chasing the moon whilst in flames

Trace your caved-in lungs and eyes

A stalactite drips your frozen name

Aroma of an elixir that I so despise

Dear, you’re intoxicating as stardust

You’re my personal brand of alcohol

I’m branded by seventeen tally marks

Scratching poems on limestone walls

Unopened pack of A-Lucky Cigarettes

Dragging sanity in soft pewter whorls

Acrid tastes of initial cheaper regrets

As midnight ashes begin softly to fall

I wash the warm blood off my hands

And reach for you, my own lucky star

These rust chains will dissolute soon

Yet leave jagged edges of ruby scars

Still, no matter, that don’t matter now

Your luminance is worth all the pains

Honey, the only thing that I care about

Are your lips leaving a permanent stain.

~*~

Now, I only pray when it all goes down
I’ll be surrounded by the ones I’ve loved
And cared about, and then burn it down
Your serotonin’s gone, kerosene’s gone
The sunset is gone, so hold on…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

