Party Games

A fun old party for the child

Who loves to be unruly, wild

Noose streamers strewn all

Hats to impale, and roll call

.

So let’s start, musical chairs

Pull mine out, say it’s all fair

How about blind man’s bluff?

Keep me stumbling, ha, laugh

.

Pin the blame on the donkey

And make an ass out of me

Spin me around and around

You’re good at that anyhow

.

But don’t you keep that pout

Come on, the party’s hot led!

Whack me like I’m the piñata

Bash bats on my paper head

.

Spin the bottle next, nice one

Spill the beans, make kids run

Bottle, bottle, who’s the worst?

It always points along my girth

.

Want cheaper entertainment?

You hire me to be your clown

Throwing shit pies in my face

Attempting to make me frown

.

I wipe the last of seltzer water

Oh, are the party games over?

All the humiliation over with?

It’s time for the candy shower!

.

And when the cards are read

Plastic plates then prepared

Ice cream makes teeth ache

Here it comes, the final break

.

Presents unwrapped in one take

It’s your party, your childish sulk

But I’ve got arsenic in your cake

So go and blow the candles out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

