Break-up, Fall-out, All-in

Fragile butterfly lips, it landed against mine

But then it shriveled up like a staling bad lie

Damaged and demented on a storm of time

Was it a sin to promise a rose for you, not I?

.

You showed me within blue kaleidoscope eyes

Woe is me with fractal illusions of tinted glass

Yet I replaced my fogged-up periscoped lenses

And saw trickery, how fractured it all truly was

.

I saw reason where you saw empty quotations

Wrongful purpose of irrational miscalculation

I pray to angels only the devils will understand

‘Cause you don’t seem to talk an innocent stand

.

I can’t be intoxicated by your diamond breath

Resentment of sharp knives and callous regret

I can’t join another party for the recently blind

I’ve got fun house mirrors pierced in my mind

.

Tumbling upsidedown in carousels of confusion

I can’t fool myself onto believing such delusions

I’m a funambulist tiptoeing delicately on a scale

I might make it if I tried, but if one side tips I fail

.

If there was another sorry, I lost it on the way home

As you dissolved into the fork and I ended up alone

But maybe this melancholy, it will be my new clarity

The road goes on as the light onwards beckons me

.

Prideful glass hearts will only fall hard and shatter

And the gossamer bridges we built shall barely last

My concern scalds me like sunlight on guilty water

Tell me, was it a sin to pick my future, not your past?

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

