Parallel Driveway

Red lights flash in the car we’re kissing in
Call me crazy, I’ve always tried to remind her
That the future’s just a few heartbeats away
From disaster, I’m afraid that I’ve thrown it all away…

~*~

Blankets vertically slashing cuts

In my bedroom morgue disease

Slipping on chrome lighted guts

The fabric of life rips and bleeds

Late midnight run to a pharmacy

Another future has not killed me

As honest as this world’s square

It’s a miracle I’ve not pulled hair

Stained glass prayers can’t save

The ones I loved, the ones I hate

Stay with me, these chances low

But at least the aches shall slow

So complicate my health further

I’ll back out of hailstorm weather

I’ve saved my breath just for you

Still I’ve held it ’til I contacted flu

Immune to coffee with medicines

This passenger drunk on gasoline

So I’ll close both my eyes and drive

Crash my car so I’d feel more alive.

~*~

No! At the top of our lungs
There’s no! No such thing as too young
When second chances won’t leave you alone
‘Cause there’s faith in love…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

