Dead Giveaway

It’s a been a day, it’s felt like an age
Since I have seen you a face to face
So we can say what we need to
I know you’ve changed, you don’t look the same
We all make mistakes, these growing pains
It’s just a phase we have to go through…

~*~

That’s all I got to give

So I understand if you leave

Our generations train tracks apart

Of the collision you had a part

No, I won’t waste your breath

With my apologies tasting of death

I won’t confuse your mind at all

With drunk dials and alcohol

There’s no more to be lost none

No more lies to dim the sun

There is more to be found again

But I guess see you until then

I gave you all my blades and insanity

I gave all but my own humanity

But you can’t bother with my digits

And flushed my memory down the toilet

Dear, you have been mine for longer

Than I ever reckoned to ponder

Guess torture was my drug to love

Self-esteem you sucked with your touch

But there’s no more sacrifices to plead

No more guilty consciences to lead

Hell, I’m happier than I’ve ever been

But I wonder why you’re still staring?

Really, if we’re better off this way

I don’t think I have anything else to say

‘Cause this is all I have got to give

So don’t be surprised when I finally leave.

~*~

I’ve been wasting all these nights
Trying to keep you off my mind, yeah
You off my mind, but no more
What are you searching for?
What are you looking for?
I don’t think you know…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

