Falling Stars and Balcony Scenes

When the light means nothing to you
Then no one would know the sound of a ghost
And I might be perfect with you, but
No one would know, so tell me, tell me…
Have you ever really danced on the edge?

~*~

A painful universe of blood and ash

Painting a ceiling over the horizon

Of a rare paradise the angels whitewashed

Rippling with sorrowfulness notions

You stood by the sharp edges, oscillating

Underwater heart affairs cold and drowning

Eating thumbtacks for breakfast last night

I’m sorry I wasn’t there to say you’ll be alright

Splendour of sunset, pink oceans on fire

Hitch rendezvous on a streetcar named desire

Rehearsing bland lines for your soliloquy

Dancing down aisles, our waltz of catastrophe

No, no, oh no, you can’t just throw me away

And I just can’t allow you to prolong your stay

This queen sized bed used to be so warm

Now your jokes are as funny as a broken arm

But I loved the mistakes you always made

And the teethmarks on my skin will never fade

A synthesised humility, surrogate sanctuary

I’ve memorised the sound of your voice, honey

Now you stand by the sharp edge, my lone star falling

While I dislocate my shoulders, your little prince catching

Interlocked in a fierce maelstrom, the calm of your flight

But this time around, I’ll be here to tell you that you’ll be alright.

~*~

Is something still scaring you?
(Have you ever really danced on the edge?)
The count of three is up
(Have you ever really danced on the edge?)
Alright then, tell me so
(Have you ever really danced on the edge?)
Just hold my hand and jump…

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

