Of Friends and Razor Blades

“I swear to god I did what I could, I practically begged you, I pretended everything was fine…!”

~*~

I’m stretching up for your fingertips

I’m starving for your acerbic glance

I’m singing loudly so you’d hear me

And give my lungs another chance

To expel all its empty explanations

And keep you from my nightmares

I reek of bloodlust and desperation

On wishes that I didn’t fucking care

And I loathe every beat of your soul

‘Cause it strikes my heart so painful

I’m a gun loaded with covetousness

And I hate I can’t clean up this mess

It is better off that way, they’ll all say

Why torture our life on moral decay?

We are too explosive, we all detonate

It’s best for burned towns to separate

But goddamn, you are too contagious

And despite the fact we are malicious

I’d rather endure pain to be your friend

Than to unravel my bandages but see it end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

