The Ba[sta]rd

What do I have to do

To prove to you

That these songs don’t

Bleed for your ego?

I understand you’re not

Paper thin, I think

But I never knew you can

Be this absurdly thick

I know you reckon

I’m all rose and posies

But I smash my mirror daily

And rip off the rosaries

For the only way I’ll

Ever know how to feel

Is with the metal blades

As a numbing thrill

But don’t get me wrong

Love’s as good as it gets

It’s like a dying dog

Flea infested and wet

Oh, how I fucking wish

There’s just so much more

But that’s the finale

Of my transparent score

So catch the obvious

With your obscured eyes

So you’d refrain from

Obsessing with asinine lies

I have just gone through

A truckload of shit

And you don’t even fucking

Know the half of it

I can’t be loquacious so

I write it all in ink and blood

There’s no one else I

Could dare trust to nod

And I don’t need your burden

To add to my heavy load

So just bait another sucker

Crashing on the road

But don’t sympathise now

With my hypodermic needles

I’m just a first class prick

But when I’m feeling deep

Am I ever glad to have

A buddy that’s a total git.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

